After working on the "Delete For Everyone" feature, messaging-service WhatsApp is reportedly working on a feature called "Expiring Messages" for its users. The feature was also called "Disappearing" messages in the past.
Even though, the updated version 2.20.110 has been launched, beta users will not immediately have access to this feature, reported WaBetaInfo.
So, how are "Expiring messages" different from the "Delete For Everyone" feature? They won’t leave a trace. That’s right. When a user deletes a message in the current version, a "This message was deleted" message can be seen by the receiver. Sometimes, the receiver may even see it in the notifications.
The "Expiring Messages" will mainly differ in this aspect as there will be no trace left behind for the sender or the receiver after a message is deleted.
The feature can also be enabled in group chats. The tool, can however, only be accessed by group admins. It will then be at the discretion of the admin to keep the message for a limited amount of time. Be it an hour, a day, or a week. The admin will also be able to access who sends these expiring messages on the group.
Once this feature is enabled on any message, a small indicator representing the same will appear in the profile picture in the chats list. The indicator, a small timer like icon will also appear on the profile pictures of those people whose messages will "expire" after the set time period.
Apart from this feature, the update will also shorten the time allotted to statuses on WhatsApp. The time allotted will not be more than 15 seconds. This move mainly comes to reduce the server traffic and is temporary.